The Sales Tax Connection

  • Welcome to the Sales Tax Connection!

    Our goal is to provide you with some interesting news about sales tax around the globe and give you links to other sites that you might find helpful. If you find something important is missing, or would like us to cover a specific topic, please leave us a comment. Remember to visit often as the website will be updated frequently with new items. As often as sales tax changes, so will we!
  • SalesTaxConnect on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Top Clicks

  • Post History Archives

  • Disclaimer

    Tax legislation and administrative policies are complex and subject to change. Therefore, should you wish to ask for our opinion on any of the matters posted (or any sales tax matter in general), please know that the conclusions reached herein and views expressed are matters of interpretation and opinion rather than certainty. The information provided is based on understanding of the facts as provided by various media sources (and you) and is not meant to represent a ruling, nor is it legally binding.

    Should you require further clarification of any of these subjects to make determinations for your business, please contact us to arrange a formal agreement for consulting services. We can help you work directly with the taxing jurisdiction to obtain a written interpretation from the appropriate tax department or pursue the matter for you via required methods.

    If I am unable to assist you, I'll gladly promote others in the industry who I think are worthy.

  • Blog Stats

    • 304,022 Hits to date.
  • Advertisements

CT – Flea Market sellers, etc.

Posted by salestax on July 8, 2008

In June, CT posted this to their website.  They are requiring that if you make sales of any kind in Connecticut for any amount of time, then you must register and obtain a sellers permit before doing so.  I’m guessing that this excludes yard sales, but they don’t define that here.

A permit will cost you $50 and then you have to collect (or pay yourself) sales tax, if applicable,  from your customers on what they buy and sent it to the state.  You have to do this on a regular basis as long as your permit is still open or valid. 

I guess you could cancel your permit once you’re done selling at the Trade show or Flea Market, but what if you go there 2X or maybe 3X/year, then you’ll be paying $50 each time.  Not to mention, but these types of vendors typically don’t keep track of the sales tax laws in Connecticut.  Oh what a windfall CT could expect.  A whole bunch of over-collected and remitted sales tax.  I’m sure this was their intent.  I wonder what the expected increase to the state budget is on this new rule? 

The only state I know of that is worse then this is TX.  They don’t even care if you sell or not.  One day in state with products or a booth of any kind pulls you in to being a TX tax collector on any subsequent sales you make in that state after visiting there.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: